The Impact of a DUI Conviction in Illinois

Every allegation of drunk or high driving in Illinois is a serious matter. Even if this is your first DUI case or first interaction with the criminal justice system, a conviction has the potential to impact every part of your life. The simple fact is that DUI convictions can result in a jail sentence, the payment of heavy fines, and a lengthy loss of driving privileges.

The team at Libterty Law, P.C. is here to explain the potential consequences of an Illinois DUI conviction. This applies regardless of whether this is a first offense or when a person is a repeat offender. They are then ready to develop a defense that aims to prevent these severe penalties. Contact them today to learn more.

Mandatory License Suspension Following Illinois DUI Convictions

Lawmakers in Illinois consider drunk driving to be a major hazard to the property and well-being of others. As a result, a conviction for DUI will always come with a driver’s license suspension.

The length of this suspension depends on a person’s prior driving record regarding DUI. If this is a person’s first conviction, the period of license suspension will be one year. However, this suspension will extend to two years if the driver was under the age of 21 at the time of the arrest.

Second convictions will extend this suspension length to five years. Any further DUI convictions will result in a loss of license for ten years. 

Fines that Accompany DUI Convictions in Illinois

DUI cases will have a significant impact on a driver’s finances. State law says that a conviction for a first DUI comes with a maximum fine of $2,500. While there is no minimum fine for many DUI cases, aggravating factors such as having an elevated blood/alcohol level or having a minor in the vehicle can result in mandatory payments. In addition, other fees such as license reinstatement penalties or the costs of alcohol education programs often apply to DUI cases.

Subsequent DUI convictions can increase the possible fines in these cases. A second conviction raises the maximum allowable fine to $25,000 if the case qualifies as a felony. Further convictions are always felonies that come with mandatory minimum financial penalties. An attorney at Liberty Law, P.C. can help explain when DUI cases become felonies in Illinois.

Possible Jail Time After DUI Cases in Illinois

Allegations of DUI in Illinois are criminal offenses. This means that a conviction will create a criminal record. Most DUI charges are Class A misdemeanors. According to 625 ILCS 5/11-501, this means that a conviction may bring a jail sentence as long as 364 days. However, there is no mandatory jail time after a DUI conviction under Illinois law for a first offense.

Even so, subsequent convictions will require a person to spend time in jail. A second conviction comes with a mandatory-minimum jail sentence of five days. Third offenses raise this minimum to ten days. In addition, felony DUI cases can come with maximum sentences of up to 14 years.

Talking with the Team at Liberty Law, P.C. could Bring More Information about the Penalties Associated with Illinois DUI Convictions

If you or someone you know is facing DUI charges in Illinois, they need to take steps to protect themselves. DUI allegations are serious matters that have the potential to change every part of your life. State law says that even a first conviction will result in a one-year loss of license. In addition, a judge may choose to impose fines of up to $2,500 and order a person to spend almost one year in jail. Second or subsequent offenses will raise the penalties in each of these three categories.

Reach out to attorney David Liberty at Liberty Law, P.C. today. They are ready to explain how Illinois law handles DUI cases and work to build defenses that aim to help you avoid these outcomes.