dui license

How Long Do You Lose Your License for DUI in Illinois?

DUI cases in Illinois that end in a conviction come with harsh penalties. While most people focus on the potential jail time and severe fines that accompany these charges, just as debilitating can be the mandatory loss of license that accompanies any Illinois DUI case.

The simple fact is that a driver may lose their driving privileges immediately after a DUI arrest. In addition, a conviction in court will extend this period of license suspension. Making matters worse, a person with a prior DUI conviction may lose their driving privileges for even longer. The team at Liberty Law, P.C. wants to help you avoid these life-changing consequences. They work to help people like you understand how long you lose your license after a DUI in Illinois.

Minimum Loss of License After a DUI Conviction

Accusations of drunk or high driving in Illinois are serious matters. State law under 625 ILCS 5/11-501 classifies a first offense with no aggravating factors as a Class A misdemeanor. This means that convictions can bring serious jail time and heavy fines.

In addition, Illinois law comes with a mandatory license suspension for a first DUI conviction. The law presumes that a first conviction will come with a one-year loss of license. This will extend to two years if the driver was under the age of 21 at the time of arrest.

Be aware that these are mandatory-minimum penalties. Circumstances in a case may lead a judge to impose even harsher and longer loss of license sentences. Speak with an attorney at Liberty Law, P.C. now to learn more about first offense DUI license suspensions.

How Long is the Loss of License for Subsequent Offenses?

The mandatory minimums discussed above apply when a DUI is a person’s first offense. If a driver has prior DUI convictions in Illinois or elsewhere in the country, the prosecutor may seek to treat the case as a subsequent offense.

The penalties for a subsequent offense conviction are always much higher. Regarding a loss of license, a second offense brings the minimum loss of license to five years. A third offense extends the period to ten years. Persistent DUI offenders will face a permanent driver’s license revocation.

It is important to remember that courts will only evaluate a person’s driving record for the prior twenty years. This means that if a driver had a DUI more than 20 years ago, the case would move forward as a first offense.

Loss of License Due to Failed Chemical Tests

In some situations, a driver may lose their license even before a case goes to trial. State law says that all drivers give their implied consent to submit to chemical tests of their breath, blood, or urine upon a police officer’s suspicion of DUI.

Failing to take one of these tests comes with a one-year loss of license if this is a person’s first refusal. Additionally, failing this test by having a blood/alcohol content of .08 percent or more comes with a six-month loss of license. These penalties are in addition to any suspension that results from a guilty result in court. Even so, judges will often allow people in this situation to serve those suspensions at the same time.

An Attorney at Liberty Law, P.C. Could Help People Better Understand the Loss of License that Comes with Illinois DUI Cases

Illinois law aims to protect all people on or near the road. As a result, the penalties for DUI cases are severe. Among these penalties is an automatic loss of license for a DUI conviction. First convictions require judges to suspend a person’s license for at least one year. Aggravating factors, such as prior convictions, will extend this period.

Many drivers lose their license before a case even goes to court. A refusal to submit to a chemical test or a failure of that test will bring an immediate suspension. 

Reach out to Liberty Law, P.C. now. They are ready to explain Illinois’ DUI laws and the potential consequences of violations on your ability to legally drive.